The latest version of Google’s web browser was very anticipated and this update brought us some great features. But Google messed up big time with this update. When you sign in to Google websites and services, it also automatically signs you into your browser, which then uploads your browsing history with other information to Google.

In Chrome 68 and older you could visit Gmail, Google +, Youtube and any other Google website and log into them without needing to be logged into the browser as well. While being signed in your Google account while using Chrome has some benefits, like saving and synchronizing your passwords and bookmarks, there are a various reason and mainly privacy reasons why you would like to keep that information stored only in your local PC, rather than sharing this information with Google. It doesn’t matter if this happens to you at school or work, you just don’t want to be put in this position at all.

And the other thing is, if you are using a shared computer to just quickly check up on your emails in Gmail, you have to from now on make sure you are fully logged out when you are leaving.

This is another move from Google which is slowly blurring the lines between its software and its services, I wish more people were concerned about this as we are.

Google is claiming that this feature is only designed to help users of Chrome to be signed all the time and have their bookmarks and passwords stored. So this feature should help us, this will make sure there will be no more complications when someone wants to log into Google Chrome.

But weird thing is that in Chrome 69 the default settings for syncing passwords and bookmarks is not triggered when you signed in to the Chrome.

In the past ten years, Google Chrome was asking a single question: “Do you want to log in with your Google account?” Why is Google Chrome no longer respecting our options?